"Fast" Eddie Clarke of Motörhead's Classic Lineup Has Died at 67

Early this morning, a post appeared on Motörhead's official Facebook page announcing the passing of "Fast" Eddie Clarke—the last surviving member of the band's classic lineup, which included the late Ian "Lemmy" Kilmister on bass and vocals and Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor on drums.

"Fast" Eddie Clarke

Though the band's lineup changed considerably from its 1975 debut to its disbandment in 2015, Eddie Clarke's lightning fast guitar work (and, sometimes, lead vocals) were featured on a lot of Motörhead's best-selling albums and most popular singles, like "Ace of Spades."

After leaving Motörhead in 1982, Clarke formed a rock band called Fastway with UFO's bassist, Pete Way. Fastway released seven albums, subsequently, and toured with AC/DC.

Clarke had been admitted to a hospital for pneumonia and passed away there peacefully yesterday. The Facebook post featured a couple of tributes from fellow former Motörhead members, like drummer Mikkey Dee, who said he was shocked to hear the news, and guitarist Phil Campbell, who praised Clarke's "iconic riffs" and said that he will be remembered as "a true rock n roller."

Motörhead - "Ace Of Spades," Live 1981

comments powered by Disqus